Post Grad Struggles

Well, where do I begin? I graduated college in May 2013 with a B.S. In Childhood and Early Childhood Education and a concentration in English. After 5 amazing years of living in the most amazing little town in the world (New Paltz, NY) I packed my bags and moved back home to live with mom.

When I went away to school everything was very different. I left my Mom, Dad, and 2 sisters at home. My parents got divorced while I was in college. It was the best thing to happen to the girls of my family! My Dad is a horrible person and I will leave it at that. When I moved back after graduation I moved into a nut house.  My uncle is going through a divorce so he moved in.He has 2 young sons and they stay with us every other weekend. My sister and her now husband lived with us! She was pregnant when I moved home. (HOLY HORMONES!)–as if we did not fight enough before pregnancy.  And then there was my mom and youngest sister. My house was NUTS and still is. My sister and her husband moved out but there are still way too many people in this house!

I had been applying to jobs for months before I moved home with no luck. No one wanted me I was either over qualified or under qualified for everything. Luckily I am still covered by my mom’s health insurance for 2 more years. I have turned to being a Nanny to my 6 month old niece. I watch her at my house five days a week. I am not making nearly enough money but at least I have a form of income.

Having a teaching degree in New York right now seems like a waste of my time. There is not a single job out there. I just keep reminding myself to keep my head up and hope that the economy turns around soon!

While I wait for a job  I have to find something to cover expenses. My college loans cost me about $500 a month because I paid for college entirely on my own. (Working on lowering the payments currently) That does not include any other expenses and does not leave me much in the way of a savings. My social life is almost non existent because of this lack of money but I am okay with that.  I still get out often enough to see my friends and enjoy being a 20-something Everything will turn around soon enough.

I have to remind myself it could be worse. I am lucky. I have an awesome family. They support me. I realize how lucky I am and I dont know how I would do this without them.

2 thoughts on “Post Grad Struggles

  1. I totally relate, I graduated over 4 years ago, Early Childhood Education and I finally decided to move to NYC and I’ve been a nanny here and sadly it pays way more than teaching does. it’s very frustrating because I would love to teach but I have loans and other bills to pay and being a nanny right now makes more sense

    Like

Join in with the babbles!

